Forgotten mosque | Madhi Masjid, Delhi

Today is World Heritage Day, or more formally, the International Monuments and Sites Day, a day dedicated to raise public awareness about the natural and cultural heritage of the world. What an apt opportunity for me to share with you some pictures of a beautiful old mosque that I came upon recently!

Massive gateway to the Madhi Masjid

As I walked down the twisted alleys of Mehrauli village in search of the Madhi Masjid, I almost gave up my hunt. But if you are on the Aurobindo Road from Gurgaon to Delhi, this mosque is very close to the Qutb Minar metro station. It is amazingly well-hidden from the main road, surrounded by verdant greenery on all sides. But if you stop at the big blue signboard that reads “Jain Mandir Dadabadi” and take a left, you will quickly and suddenly come upon this beauty. And then you’ll wonder how you’ve never heard about it!

It is not known who built it  and when, but the architecture is so strikingly similar to the Lodi Garden tombs that it is conjectured that the Madhi Masjid was of roughly the same period- late Lodi or early Mughal. The mosque is rather unusual since it’s a combination of a covered mosque and a wall mosque. Even today it is evident that the structure was once exquisitely decorated with colorful tiles. I found a family picnicking outside the fort-like walls, celebrating the birthday of their little one. That, I thought, was the perfect way to introduce your kids to the beauty of their heritage :)

For directions click here.

Fort-like boundary walls, and an ancient well

Detail on Gateway

‘Jharokha’ or overhanging window

Inside view

The Madhi Masjid

Unusual combination of covered and wall mosque

View of the complex from the roof

Central mihrab, facing west for Medina

Afterthought: If you found the Madhi Masjid interesting, you would surely like a walk in the Lodi Gardens. And maybe even a peek into a Lodi period step-well !

About wanderfool

with wonder in my eyes, a thousand questions in my heart, and a spring in my step, i set off to explore this megacity....

9 thoughts on “Forgotten mosque | Madhi Masjid, Delhi

  1. twobitwo says:

    These are stunning pictures :O This mosque is definitely on my list of must-visits now!

  2. Very interesting, I found this place accidentally on the 18th while driving around trying to take pictures of teh Qutub Minar and now I read about it here!

  3. Naushirvan says:

    love this place! I first visited Madhi Masjid when I was a kid ( born and raised in South Delhi). I love the way it has preserved its serene character despite being located next to the whirl and bustle of Mehrauli. It is a treat to watch the arrival of monsoon clouds from its topmost floor. Mehrauli is a treasure trove when it comes to old monuments and pieces of history. I am sure you know about them, but I believe I am duty-bound, as a Delhiwallah, to put forth a (non-exhaustive) list of the places of interest in Mehrauli:
    1. Jahaz Mahal
    2. Hauz-e-Shamsi near Jahaz Mahal.
    3. Jharna or Mughal Gardens.
    4. Zafar Mahal. If your’e interested in Urdu poetry, this place holds a surprise for you. Bahadurshah Zafar’s ‘sardgah’ ( kitna hai badnaseeb zafar dafn ke liye, do gaz zameen na mili ku-e-yaar mein) is located within its walls. It also contains a beautiful marble mosque called Moti Masjid.
    5. Gandhak ki baoli.
    6. Hijron ka Khanqaah.
    7. Qutbuddin Bakhtiyar Kaki’s dargah, if you are interested in Sufism.

    P.S. I love your blog. keep up the good work.

    • wanderfool says:

      Naushirvan- thanks for reading and glad you like my blog. This is one of the most interesting comments I have received, and I am thrilled to find someone who has wandered around all of these little known nooks and corners of the city. I am almost jealous of you…wandering around these ruins right from childhood, awesome! Do keep reading and pitching in with any ideas to cover new and interesting places in Dilli :)

  4. sonali says:

    I visited this place couples of years ago by chance while a visit to Dargaah . I was quite amazed to see the brilliant architecture. It has jharoka, Beautiful stairs, Blue tiles , well , A hidden bawli is also there .Still didnt know the monument name. Thanks for bringing this monument into our memory once again.

What do you think, dear reader?

